FMMS Junior Youth Legislature

FMMS Junior Youth Legislature
Posted on 01/27/2016
This is the image for the news article titled FMMS Junior Youth Legislature

Floyd Middle Magnet Participates in the 26th Junior Youth Legislature

On January 22, twenty-eight Floyd Middle Magnet students participated in the 26th Junior Youth Legislature held at the Alabama State Capitol building. Students from across the state of Alabama came to take part in the program. The Floyd students were selected to be in the Senate. They participated in workshops on bill writing and parliamentary procedure in the morning and then debated bills having to do with state laws during the afternoon session. Two of the bills written by Floyd students were debated. Chanice Spicer and Nirea Osborne wrote and presented a bill that would require Alabama to remove the tax on groceries. Jada Burroughs’ and Zaniyah Frazier’s bill would grant paternity leave for new fathers. After the debate, the Senate voted to pass their bill.

Floyd students were also elected for several offices. Justin An served as Chaplain, Claire Conway as Clerk, Joe Higgins as Floor Leader, and Sherlenthia Brazzley as Pro Temp. Yori Adagunodo, Isabella Baker, Sherlenthia Brazzley, Joe Higgins, Mary Jenkins, and Hannah Thomas were each recognized as an “Outstanding Statesman.”

Picture from Junior Youth Legislature:

Front row from left: Justin An, Kyra Washington, Brianne Therrien, Hailey Lushington, Isabella Baker, Emily Frances Marshall, Mary Jenkins, Jada Burroughs, Harrison Hall, and Yori Adagunodo

Second row: Nirea Osborne, Chanice Spicer, Emily Willford, Claire Harden, Kerry Anne Straw, Anna Grace Rief, Joe Higgins, Kyle Adams, Lindsey Stewart, Allyson Merriweather, Zaniyah Frazier, Christiana Taylor, and Calvin Clarke

Third row: Sherlenthia Brazzley, Trey Taylor, Logan Horne, Claire Conway, and Hanah Bloom-Baldwin Middle Magnet

Not pictured: Hannah Thomas

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.